Hello guest, if you read this it means you are not registered. Click here to register in a few simple steps, you will enjoy all features of our Forum.
This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Aikon F4 + R-XSR SBUS/telemetry
#1
Hi everyone,

I'm building a new quadcopter with some older parts I had lying arround. It's my second build so I'm quite new.
I'm up to this point:

I'm using an Aikon F4 FC (43030 V1.2) and an FrSky R-XSR (already used in my previous quadcopter).
TX and RX are bound and both updated to the latest firmware.
FC is running the latest Betaflight firmware.

- First I tried to connect the receiver SBUS to the UART1 pad and Smartport to the UART3 (TELE) pad: no receiver connection and no telemetry.
- I messed a bit around with the CLI (serialrx_inverted = ON, tlm_inverted = ON, tlm_halfduplex = OFF): no improvement.

I know that FrSky receivers use inverted signals but I'm not sure if the FC has a build in inverter on UART1 or how the Betaflight commands (serialrx_inverted) work/react on this. I already tried the uninverted pads from the R-XSR on UART1 and UART3 but no success either...

Current situation:
I connected the receiver SBUS tot UART3 pad because I figured from the manual this port has a bidirectional inverter: Now my receiver has connection (checked in Betaflight).
I connected the Smartport to the RX4 pad which is a Softserial and tried to get the telemetry working but still no succes.
So I'm up to the point I don't got my Telemetry working.


Can anyone help me with this? Or should I just leave this and use my OSD for telemetry? Like I already mentioned, I'm quite new Rolleyes

The manual is rather brief and the Github page doesn't hold much information (it's btw for version 1.1 which is slightely different).

[Image: zDl5S04l.jpg]

Here is my cli diff output:


Code:
diff

# version
# Betaflight / STM32F405 (S405) 4.2.9 Apr 27 2021 / 19:33:01 (e097f4ab7) MSP API: 1.43
# config: manufacturer_id: AIKO, board_name: AIKONF4, version: 3a35e73b, date: 2019-09-30T05:46:12Z

# start the command batch
batch start

board_name AIKONF4
manufacturer_id AIKO

# name: Jonaikon

# feature
feature -RX_PARALLEL_PWM
feature -AIRMODE
feature RX_SERIAL
feature SOFTSERIAL
feature TELEMETRY

# map
map TAER1234

# serial
serial 0 32 115200 57600 0 115200
serial 2 64 115200 57600 0 115200

# master
set acc_calibration = -76,-15,-17,1
set serialrx_provider = SBUS
set serialrx_inverted = ON
set motor_pwm_protocol = DSHOT600
set tlm_inverted = ON
set tlm_halfduplex = OFF
set name = Jonaikon

profile 0

rateprofile 0

# end the command batch
batch end

#

Ports tab in Betaflight:


[Image: fNFdmBOl.png]
Reply
Login to remove this ad | Register Here
#2
You need to connect the S.Port pin of the R-XSR to the TX1 pad on the Aikon F4 FC. Then run the following commands in the CLI and check to see if you are then getting telemetry sensors appearing on your transmitter. You may need to do a delete an (re)discover of the telemetry data sensors under the model settings on your transmitter to get them to show up.

Code:
serial 0 0 115200 57600 0 115200
serial 30 32 115200 57600 0 115200
save
Reply
#3
(08-Jan-2022, 12:21 AM)SnowLeopardFPV Wrote: You need to connect the S.Port pin of the R-XSR to the TX1 pad on the Aikon F4 FC. Then run the following commands in the CLI and check to see if you are then getting telemetry sensors appearing on your transmitter. You may need to do a delete an (re)discover of the telemetry data sensors under the model settings on your transmitter to get them to show up.

Code:
serial 0 0 115200 57600 0 115200
serial 30 32 115200 57600 0 115200
save

Thanks, I'll try this for sure!
I've read your older post about the serial CLI, now this makes sense.

The only thing that is not clear to me is why use the TX1 (softserial1) while this is default for VTX control.
Will I still be able to control my VTX? (IRC Tramp in my situation). Or should I use another TX pin for this?
Reply
#4
S.Port needs to be connected to a TX pad, not an RX pad because telemetry data is being transmitted from the FC to the receiver.

You can use the TX pad of any spare unused UART for IRC Tramp control. It doesn't need to be a SoftSerial port. That is just what the manual is showing.

Ideally you should be using the TELEM pad for S.Port and the RX1 pad for SBUS but you said you couldn't get that working. We could help you troubleshoot that if you really wanted but it would mean going back to square one by restoring the default Betaflight configuration for your FC and rewiring your R-XSR to the RX1 and TELEM pads. Otherwise just leave it as it is and make use of different UART wiring for external peripherals that the manual shows. I guess it's your call.
Reply
#5
If you still have Smartport connected to the RX4 pad then telemetry will not work because RX4 is actually Softserial 2 RX (not TX).

You can work around this by:

resource SERIAL_RX 12 NONE
resource SERIAL_TX 12 A01
serial 31 32 115200 57600 0 115200
save

These commands will resource map the Softserial 2 (RX4 pad on FC) as a TX rather than an RX and you should receive SmartPort telemetry.

For Tramp SA, you can continue to use Softserial 1 (TX1 pad on your FC):

serial 30 8192 115200 57600 0 115200
save
Reply
#6
I've use Kafie1980's solution because my wiring was still connected to the RX4 pad and it works!

Thanks for both replies, this clears a lot out for me! Especially the resource mapping!
Reply
#7
That's good news. The solution I suggested was just trying to keep the Betaflight configuration as close to the default Aikon F4 target settings as possible but either solution would work.
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Help Betaflight telemetry output smartport paulno 24 1,365 05-Oct-2023, 06:23 PM
Last Post: SnowLeopardFPV
  SpeedyBee F7V3 SBUS VBasic thrust 0 381 21-Jun-2023, 05:57 PM
Last Post: thrust
  Problem with Rush Blade F722 Analog and Telemetry Denethor 7 1,088 10-Dec-2022, 04:37 PM
Last Post: chukaman
  Review AIKON F7 60A AIO whoop FC iFly4rotors 8 1,296 05-Oct-2022, 12:59 AM
Last Post: iFly4rotors
  Mamba F722 Mini Mk 3 no SBUS pad. Peterev 2 551 16-Sep-2022, 01:12 AM
Last Post: Peterev


Login to remove this ad | Register Here